Stonyhurst College Term Dates

Term Dates 2021/2022

Christmas Term 2021 Dates
New staff induction  Wednesday 1st December
Staff retreat day  Thursday 2nd September
Staff INSET Friday 3rd December
All Lower Grammar and Poetry pupils arrive Monday 6th September
All Grammar and Syntax pupils arrive Tuesday 7th September 
Rhetoric pupils arrive; all boarders to be in residence by 6pm Wednesday 8 September
Ascensio Scholarum (8:30am), Holy Mass (9:00am); start of Christmas Term Thursday 9 September
Lessons end 5.00pm. Day pupils and those travelling by car may leave Friday 15 October
Half term begins: Travelling day for all boarders Saturday 16 October
Travelling day; boarders return by 18:00 Sunday 31 October
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 1 November
College Carol Service 3:00 pm (Day pupils and boarders being collected by car may leave after the service) Friday 10 December
Term ends: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 11 December
Easter Term 2022 Dates
Staff training Friday 7 January
Travelling Day; boarders return by 18:00 Sunday 9 January
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 10 January
St Omers Martyrs’ Mass 3:00 pm* Friday 11 February
Half term begins: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 12 February
Travelling day; boarders return Sunday 20 February
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 21 February
Passion Service 3:00 pm (Day pupils and boarders being collected by car may leave after the service) Friday 1 April
Term ends: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 2 April
Easter Sunday

Sunday 17 April

Summer Term 2022 Dates
Staff training Friday 22 April
Travelling Day for all boarders Sunday 24 April
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 25 April
Great Academies (College) Friday 27 May
Travelling day from 2:00pm: Half term begins after Great Academies Saturday 28 May
Travelling day; boarders return Sunday 5 June
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 6 June
End of Year Mass 3:00 pm* Wednesday 6 July
Term ends: travelling day for all boarders Thursday 7 July

* Rhetoricians and Syntaxians are asked to leave after their final exam, in order to maintain a quiet working environment for those who remain.

Term Dates 2022/2023

Christmas Term 2022 Dates
New staff induction  Wednesday 31 August
Staff INSET training Thursday 1st & Friday 2nd September
New pupils in Poetry & Lower Grammar arrive Monday 5th September
Induction of all new pupils in Poetry & Lower Grammar arrive Monday 5th September
New pupils in Grammar & Syntax arrive Tuesday 6th September
Induction of all new pupils in Grammar & Syntax arrive Tuesday 6th September
All pupils in Rhetoric arrive Wednesday 7th September
Travelling Day; existing boarders return by 1800h Wednesday 7th September
Day pupils return, Asenscio Scholarum, Holy Mass, Lessons begin Thursday 8th September
Lessons end 5.00pm. Day pupils and those travelling by car may leave Friday 21st October
Half term begins: Travelling day for all boarders Saturday 22nd October
Travelling day; boarders return by 1800h Sunday 6th November
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 7th November
College Carol Service 3:00 pm* Friday 9th December
Term ends: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 10th December

*Day pupils and boarders being collected by car may leave after the service

Easter Term 2023 Dates
Staff INSET training Friday 6th January
Travelling Day; boarders return by 1800h Sunday 8th January
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 9th January
St Omer’s Martyrs’ Mass 3:00 pm* Friday 10th February
Half term begins: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 11th February
Travelling day; boarders return Sunday 19th February
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 20th February
Passion Service 3:00 pm* Friday 24th March
Term ends: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 25th March
Easter Sunday 9th April 2023
*Day pupils and boarders being collected by car may leave after the Passion Service
Summer Term 2023 Dates
Staff INSET training Friday 14th April
Travelling Day for all boarders Sunday 16th April
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 17th April
Great Academies (College) Friday 26th May & Saturday 27th May
Travelling Day from 2:00 pm: Half term begins after Great Academies Saturday 27th May
Travelling day: boarders return Sunday 4th June
Day pupils return and classes begin Monday 5th June
End of Year Open-Air Mass 3:00 pm* Friday 30th June
Term ends: travelling day for all boarders Saturday 1st July

*Day pupils and boarders being collected by car may leave after the service.

* Rhetoricians and Syntaxians are asked to leave after their final exam, in order to maintain a quiet working environment for those who remain.

For the same reason, Syntaxians are encouraged to leave after their final exam but may remain until the end of term by agreement with the Assistant Head. 

Where do you want to go next?