Once again the Stonyhurst CCF Shooting Team ventured down to Bisley, Surrey for the National Rifle Association International Schools Meeting from the 12th – 17th July. The Shooting Team was up against some fierce competition with over 500 competitors from 40 of the Top Shooting Schools in the UK and teams from Canada.

The weather was extremely hot all week but this did not affect the cadet’s keen eyes for shooting, resulting in some excellent scores, especially against the well-established shooting schools. The Competition included Cadet Target Rifle, .22 Gallery Range Rifle, F-Class long range Rifle and Clay Pigeon shoots. Stonyhurst’s performance was outstanding and consistent throughout the week with some admirable scores from all. The Stonyhurst Team were runners up in the F-Class Competition at 1200 yards with scope and Samuel Simpson Pattison achieved a well-deserved 2nd placed overall, winning 4 silver medals with Gabrielle Acker, Harvey Whittaker, Samuel Simpson Pattison and Samuel Reynolds. The Cadet Gallery Competition was a close fought contest; Stonyhurst achieved 3rd place, with Harvey Whittaker achieving 2nd placed individual in addition to another silver medal. The team shot extremely well throughout the Competition achieving 9th Place in the Ashburton four's and 11th place in the Schools four's Competition.

A special thank you to Mr and Mrs Simpson-Pattison for their outstanding support all week. Thanks also to the numerous visiting parents of the College who visited during the week; Mr and Mrs Wroblewski, Lt Col Barber and Mrs Barber, Mr and Mrs Wylie-Carrick, Mr and Mrs Acker, Mr and Mrs Hartley and Mrs Leonardi. It was wonderful to be joined by previous Shooting Captains of the College who returned to Bisley to coach and support the present team; Olivia Haworth (Shooting Captain 2013), Tom Wroblewski (Shooting Captain 2016) and Edward Harriss (Shooting Captain 2017) your knowledge and assistance was invaluable and it was wonderful to welcome you all back to Bisley.The support from parents and OS was outstanding and made Ashburton Day very special, I thank you all and long may it continue.

The Team: JUO Rory Wylie Carrick, Sgt Max Leonardi, Cpl Rhys Barber, Cpl Sam Reynolds, Cpl Sam Simpson- Pattison, Cpl Orla Hartley, Cpl Harvey Whittaker, Cpl Catherine Kellett, LCpl Amy Wroblewski, Cdt Gabrielle Acker. Well done to all of you.

Last but not least I must thank the Range Team, without whom Bisley Competitions could not happen, Captain Doug Lloyd, Mr Christiaan Hunt, Miss Olivia Haworth (OS) and Maj (Retd) David Burton. I am immensely grateful for your commitment and expertise throughout the week enabling a smooth running and a most enjoyable competition.

The future of Stonyhurst CCF Shooting continues to grow from strength to strength and bodes well for the coming years. I look forward to the team competing at Bisley 2020.


Stonyhurst CCF Team and Supporting families
Stonyhurst College CCF 2019 Team
Bisley Shooting Ground